Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi all, i am brand new to pier/surf fishing and would like to learn a few things. I just learned the the basics to freshwater fishing this spring and was introduced to pier fishing this pass weekend. As i walked passed other fishmens holding 10ft+ poles, holding my 6ft long ugly stick with 10lbs test lines, i felt like a total idiot.

So now i am here to learn how to fish with the big boys. To start off, i need to shop for a new rod/reel combo. I really like my ugly stick so i plan on getting a ~10ft long one, but no sure about the reel yet. I am also looking for some places to fish. The only place i know off is a pier right after the baybridge, called romanoke i believe. The entrance reads "Dpt of natural resources" or something like that. WE didn't catch anything worthy to be happy about but we had a little action through the night.

So any recommendations for places to go and a reel? This is my first year fishing, so please pardon me if i a little slow on the fishing slangs/terms.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,891 Posts
First, I'm no expert at the "pier thing", but tried the Tank on my day off, and you could do with a 9' or 10' pole (mine are 10' - 11' surf-rods, love Assateague Island), but the butts can be too long. I like Ocean Master rods (check out Bass shop at Arundel Mills) and I like the Penn 6500 reel, but you can probably get by with something from KMart or WalMart.

My first surf rod (not quite stiff enough, but really got me into surf-fishing was a no name about 11') was rated but up to I think 5oz, lots of times need 8 - 10oz) but it worked (less than $130) and still use as one of my rods.

Other than that, some of us are heading to the Choptank, Cambridge side tomorrow night (I'll be there about 1:00 am God willing others showing up around 3:30 am I think to catch the tide). If able come on out, I'll have a rod you can use unless you find one.

·
Registered