Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to fish off the pier at sandbridge but have no idea how to set up my pole. Do i just have a weight and a hook, where do i and how do i tie the weight on the line. what size hook and weights. Im very new to fishing and have never fished off a pier. I have only ever fished for bass in back bay. If you could use easy terms and pictures or links would be great thank you. if you could please explain it all i have the 17lb line but thats it. thank you very much.

·
Registered
74 Posts
tackle

Croakers usually start biting first here in the spring. Go to wally world and get a couple bottom rigs. They will be hanging from the top shelf. A pack of #4 snelled hooks and some #2 sinkers, "I use #1's alot". Then go to a grocery store and get some cheap hotdogs or 1/4 lb. of shrimp for cheap bait. Bottom rigs have a clip at the end to attach your weight, and a swivel at the top to tie your line to. Putting the hooks on is easy but had too much:beer:to get into that now!!!!!!!!
Google fishing knots- that important!

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
what i have now

I have a 2/0 hook tied about a foot away from a 4 oz weight will this work. i didnt get anything special i just got the hook and weights and tied them on. it looks like what everyone else is using.

·
Registered
2,078 Posts
imo 2/0 is a bit large for croaker(not saying, u won't hook them but u are going to get the bait stolen by smaller fish). learn how to snell hooks, tie rigs. get some 20 pound test line or leader line and tie rigs using dropper loops and a sinker at the end.

·
Registered
573 Posts