Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings from the West Coast! I'm new to surf fishing, but I just got a 12' ugly stick and Daiwa Jupiter 5500. I'm getting better at casting, but the torque makes it hard to keep bait like shrimp or squid on the hook. Any suggestions on technique or type of hooks to use?

Thanks in advance
Lazy guy.

·
Registered
3,387 Posts
Well I guess the first thing is to have bait that is as fresh as possible. What size fish are you after?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The size of fish varies. For surf perch (~10 inches or less) I try to use sand crabs (assuming I can dig up some big enough), but I also use squid or shrimp for sharks or bat rays. These could get to be 3-5 feet, although I haven't caught any that big. I've had some (limited) success catching jack smelt - ~14 inches - on shrimp.

-Lazy guy-

·
Registered
2,767 Posts
LG,
When I visited my brother in San Jose, we went to Half Moon Bay and used anchovies, when they thaw out, the bait would fly right off our hooks, we'll next time I visited him, I went to Walmart to pick up some elastic strings (find it in the material department). Just break a piece around 1 inch long and wrap it around the bait (no need to tie a knot), and believe me , your bait will stay on the hook.
Hope this helps.

·
Registered
4,330 Posts
First time I ever heard about squid falling off the hook on the cast. Squid is one tough bait and lasts forever. Maybe you need to relook how you are cutting the squid up for your hook.

Does the squid strips fall off the hook or just the tentacle section?

·
Registered
374 Posts
try rubberbands. another interesting method is panty hose. use it like a small mesh bag and place the bait inside and tie off the ends.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the tips. I've tried rubber bands but didn't have much success. The elastic strips and panty hose sound interesting.