Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am interested to know what people prefer to use, fish-finder or a hi-lo rig, when surf fishing in the fall. I am new to this and want to know if you use hi-lo's only for small game i.e. spot, croakers; and use fish-finders for larger fish i.e. stripers, cobias, big blues. Does the style vary just because of preference or because one style is better for some fish? I do know that you can get more distance with a hi-lo, but why else do people use it?

todd

·
Registered
1,237 Posts
Greetings Todd!

You basically answered your own question. Hi-Lo is great for small fish that travel in schools. Some guys like to use it in the surf to present two different baits when you're not sure what's around. Many larger fish respond better to the fish finder rig, especially if you're using a big bait. It allows the fish to move off and take the bait before feeling the sinker. It can be tough to cast, though, and some people add a second swivel as a "stop" above the first swivel. Many people compensate for the casting limitations by using a fixed sinker with a long leader and single hook when casting for big fish. Part of the fun of fishing is experimenting to see what works best for you....

·
Registered
4,334 Posts
Hi Low rigs are not tough enough..

IMHO - Hi/Lo rigs are great for small punk fish but can not handle the larger fish and the strain they place on the way those cheap hi/lo rigs are made. Stick with homemade fishfinder rigs on good quality leader material and you won't have to worry about some cheap rig coming apart just when you need it most...I don't trust them for fishing the surf for larger fish...One large bluefish will tear them apart. ;)

·
Registered
1,237 Posts
Greetings Sandcrab!

There aren't many rigs, store bought or hand tied, that a big blue CAN'T tear apart! You have to have a good deal of luck on your side to land a slammer on a mullet rig in the surf....

·