Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've surfed most of the old posts getting a feel for the board, so here's my story, I'm pretty new to fishing, I usually go to the southshores of Long island (ny) and fish off of the docks at Captree, now I'm looking to expand my horizons and fish other docks and possibly the surf. I'm pretty inexperienced so any and all advice is welcomed...
I recently purchased a Shakespeare ugly stik (2 piece 7foot) and a couple of reels (shimano sedona 4000fa, penn power graph pg2000), I also ordered a Bassproshops muskie rod by mistake (oops, thought it was a spinning rod), should I keep it and buy a casting reel? If you guys can clue me in on if I bought the right stuff, or should have bought something else? I'm mainly looking to catch anything off of the docks/shoreline and possibley off of the boats later on, thanks a lot~!

·
Registered
472 Posts
Welcome

It sounds like you've made a good start. Your spinning tackle will be easy to use, and effective for fishing your area.

As for your mistaken purchase of a casting rod,....... stuff happens.

Some guys can cast them OK right from the start, but most folks find them hard to deal with.

There are places where you don't have to cast very far (bridges), that you could use it for bottom fishing.

I've fooled around with them for 40 years, and haven't got it figured out yet.

The guys on the New York / Conn. board and the New Jersey board can help with info on where to go. (That "Jersey" board needs somebody to get it charged up.)

Good Luck, and Enjoy.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks for your input, do you think I should maybe buy a casting reel for future trial/use? I was looking at inexpensive reels, and the Penn 209 looked pretty good, anyone wanna shoot out their opinions?

·
Registered
348 Posts
well, you asked...