Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
671 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
As some of you already know, I am a newb to fishing. I already purchased my first rod/reel combo. Its a Mitchell rod/Advanta reel. It was just $12. Its side says 6 6"-Medium-Lure 1/8-3/4 oz-trilene 4-12 lb.

I don't have a boat so I will be sticking to pier/shore and lake fishing. Is this a good enough reel and rod? I was at bass pro and saw a Shakespeare Ugly Cat SP Rod and Reel Combo for only $30, no line though, and I thought it was a good deal compared to the other ugly stick rod/reel combos.

Everywhere I read people talk about how dependable their ugly sticks are and I thought that it might be a good buy. But do I even need anything that heavy duty? I mean I am still an angler virgin:redface: I have been out twice so far, but its cold, so no fish. But I just want to be ready when the season starts and have the proper equipment. I have been heavily reading on baits and lures, but I have surely neglected info on rods and reels. Any info you guys can give will surely help!

Thanks,
James C.

·
Registered
4,413 Posts
It will be enough to get you started. It should work for flounder, small bluefish and croaker, plus whatever you are targetting in fresh water.

Eventually you may end up wanting to target bigger fish like striper, at which point you will want to beef up on your gear.

·
Registered
3,743 Posts
Get the best that YOUR BUDGET WILL ALLOW. I agree with Emannuel, it will get you started. The best thing to do is get out and fish. As time goes by and you continue reading the posts on here, you'll eventually figure out what suits you best. Not sure of your age or type of work you do, but you'll probably have to take another job to pay for all that equipment you are eventually going to want to buy, most of which will be unnecessary, LOL! Just enjoy the fishing for now.

·
Registered
671 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·