Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am new to this board and am in need of help with my casting. I dont do any competition casting I am just a fisherman trying to outcast everybody else. :D I use a custom 15'4" lamiglas rod with a Daiwa grand wave z 30 reel and 25 pound mono line, and 6oz leads. This is a new outfit I just started using and love it but I cant seem to get over 300-350 feet. Other people that we fish close to are making me feel real bad they are getting another 100' easily. What can I do to increase my cast.

·
Registered
681 Posts
I'm not an expert but you might need a shorter rod. 15' are too much for most people. secondly you should consider using super braids or using 15# line. 25# mono will cut down your cast dramatically. and most importantly the technique. check out the brighton cast post couple of months ago.

·
Registered
210 Posts
Agree 100% with the line. Try braid or use 12-15# test with a shock leader as discussed at length on the board. I am not a distance caster, just a fisherman who always wants another 100' on the cast.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Ok went out this morning and made a few casts and deceided to find a place I could measure. 450 feet seems to be my average every once in a while I can luckout and fall just short of 500. I want more 15 lb. mono is just to light for sturgeon fishing the columbia late fall when the flow drops some guys drop to 20 but most stay with 25 big game or max ultragreen. I have not seen anybody use braids some have talked about them being these horrible creatures that will cut your thumb off. I would like to know more about them wich ones to try what to do and what to watch out for.

·
Registered
210 Posts