Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just wanted to take a moment to say "Hello" to everyone. I'm a new member to the board and a new surf fisherman. I'm a resident of Maryland and always looking for an opportunity to go surf fishing, but I am new to the sport still have very much to learn. I was able to get out to the Virginia coast this summer (on a family vacation) and caught a few croakers and stingrays, but not much else. :( I would be interested in any tips anyone would be wiling to divulge as far as good fishing spots in Delaware or Maryland for day trips or weekend trips. I'm actually from Florida and do not know very much about the Delaware/Maryland coast.

I look forward to learning a lot from everyone here! :)

John

·
Registered
4,474 Posts
Welcome.
There's a lot of good info on the board already. On the left there is a section called On the Water. Under it there is a link for hot spots.
Do you want to fish the ocean or the bay? Interested in piers or just the surf?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hello HuskyMD,

Thanks for the info. I'm on my way to check it out now. I've primarily fished the ocean and the surf as I got myself a 10' surf rod and reel. Although, I would be open to fishing off a pier as well. I've never fished the bay, how is it? What can you catch in the bay?

I see your location is Montgomery Village, MD. I'm right down 355 from you in Rockville. Do you get to the coast often?

·
Registered
4,474 Posts
I work in Rockville--just off of Shady Grove.
I don't make it to the coast very often. I have fished only piers in Ocean City. I have fished the coast in Delaware (Dewey Beach and 3 R's). I have also fished IRI in Delaware--which is where the Indian River meets the Ocean. You can surf fish there of cast lures into the river. It is actually closer to us time wise than Ocean City.