Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4,543 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to match up my BPS Oceanmaster 12' heaver (20-50 lb test, 5-9 oz weights) with either a Daiwa Grand Wave Z-30 (295 yds of 20 lb test) or a Penn 525 T-Mag (275 yds of 15 lb test) reel.

The Daiwa reel holds more 20 lb test line than the Penn but the Penn has a reputation for casting distance. I intend to use it for fishing Assateague for stripers and drum and the Delaware surf.

Anyone have any suggestions or comments on each of these reels?

·
Registered
500 Posts
I have the OM/SHV30 combo and I love it. It is virtually fur-proof and casts a mile. I have no experience with the Penn, but I have read they can be a bear to tame. My opinion is go with the Grandwave-Z. You'll have castability along with extra line capacity for those stingrays that head for Spain.

·
Registered
4,543 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Shoe,

Thanks for your suggestion. We have lots of sharks during the Summer at Assateague Island SP. Fall brings our share of large drum that can spool you in a heartbeat. I really don't feel too comfortable with the Penn line capacity at all.

Diehard surf guys here swear by the Diawa "SLOSH" reels..the SHV and Grand Wave-Z are just better improvements on this reel.

·
Registered
4,474 Posts
I think the Penn is the one Sand Flea has on his custom wrap job. Am I mistaken SF? Do you like it Sand Flea?

·
Registered
500 Posts
Hey casted-away. That shimano is a trolling reel, not really made for casting. I don't doubt the quality of the reel, just wrong for the intended application.

·
Registered
3,387 Posts