Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new at using a conventional reel and I need some pointers on getting a longer cast. I'm using a 12ft Tica with a Saltist 20 conventional reel with 17lb mono and a shock leader. I can get it to 80 yards with a 5oz or 8oz with tennis ball. I do not have any blowups so that part is good. I've tried the Hatteras cast and off the ground cast and both usually go about 80 yards. Any pointers for getting more distance?

·
Registered
71 Posts
I watched some of Tommy's videos on YouTube and picked up a lot of good stuff. My biggest problem was trying too hard and pushing the rod too far forward. Are you shooting out wormburners? That is what I was doing at first. When I started pointing the rod up when I finished (looking at where you want it to be helps) then I started getting altitude on my casts and the distance came on quick! It is an amazing feeling to expect the weight to hit the ground and the reel to stop and it just keeps turning and turning...

·
Registered
2,276 Posts
What I've picked up from the site:

Focus on the ground cast. Once you have the timing down and you are getting around 160 yds, then you can work on the Hatteras. You will find that your distance on the Hatteras has increased drastically without practicing it at all, just because you know how a cast is supposed to feel.

Slow down. You are likely trying to put too much speed into the cast. I thought I was going slowly until I posted a video up. So slow it down.

Take a lesson. If you can make it out to Wilmington go and see Tommy Farmer. He is one of the best in the business, if not the best. He will show you how to put that weight way out there.

If you can't make it to a lesson, find someone to cast with or videotape yourself. I taped myself for the first time two weeks ago and saw lots of things to improve upon. Then I posted the video on here and got a ton of great advice.