Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last year on my web page I posted an article on checking rod guides. It involves using a piece of panty hose.

See: http://members.cox.net/files/heaver.htm

Florocarbon line: Some people swear by it, others swear at it. Personally I am in the latter category. I lost two large fish to florocarbon last year - one was the largest YF tuna I had ever hooked. The florocarbon leader broke at the hook knot. "Oh, incorrect knot tying", some will say. So I retied with using a fresh section of florocarbon, fresh knot, hook, etc. Another tuna on a short time later!!! GREAT!!! And guess what????!!!! The piece-of-trash florocarbon broke again in identical circumstances - right at the knot.

"Oh, incorrect knot tying", some will again say. Well to those folks I'll let them know that I have been tying fishing knots 35+ years, and I am not a novice. I can tie any knot perfectly - the ones that don't turn out right I'll cut off and redo. The floro I was using is Momai Hi-Catch in 60lb test.

Floro is best used for leader shy fish such as tuna, kings, etc. I guess a piece of floro could be used for jerk-jigging for spanish - but is it worth the trouble? I don't think so.

Drum, cobia, amberjack could care less if you're using a piece of rope for leader and are not leader shy.

Personally I would recommend that one stay away from the stuff. Sooner or later its going to cost you a nice fish.

For tuna I have gone back to 80lb clear Ande connected to the fishing line with a simple albright or nail knot.

Lou

·
Banned
1,208 Posts
Heaver,