Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
264 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, just a few questions to some of you smart fellers out there, I am new to fishing for rocks here in Va, used to redfish in Tx. so he goes

My primary fishing spots will prob be willoghby pier, york river, and lesner bridge. What am I looking for to catch nice fish. I'm not stingy, I have caught more than my share of 50" redfish,(I have caught 6 total) and 1 almost 60". So which tide is the best one to fish on? best baits for rocks? are the finger mullet still around, and if so how much longer? ar they worth the trouble to catch? Been using a cast net since i was 10 or so, i can throw my 7' with accuracy, and distance. I love to fish, and love to take my son (he's 5 and thinks it is just awesome) but I would like to catch them every now and then. You don't have to break it down real simple just some good starting points and maybe a few lessons..lol. Just pretty much the basics, what tides to fish, am i looking for underwater structure, back flows, deep moving water, stuff like that..

thanks guys

it was nice meeting some of ya'll sat night at the pier.

shore

·
Registered
3,387 Posts
Well you know what you want to see and thats good. I find Stripers are more of a lure fish. They will take live bait or freshing killed. I have very little luck with other baits. I would give you a suggestion that has helped me find a out of the way place. Find a recent Chart of the Lower Chesapeake(they probably need to be up dated) and a road map. Well I think you know what to look for. Ask permission first.
Stripers in general want Current to ambush thier dinner. So look for Rocks and pillings as they can hold fish.
As for which tide is best that varies by location and sometimes you have to fish it differently. Think outside of the Box.
Well I have to work tonight I will probably add some more tommorrow.

·
Registered
7 Posts
I'm new here too!