Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
first, let me mention i am a complete newbie to conventional reels. i am also not attempting to be a super distance caster, but i do want to get my bait out further when i am surf fishing. today i finally got to go down to a field for my first experience with my new set up. i have an OM 12SCM it is rated 3 to 6 oz. it is matched to a penn 525 mag. i have cheap 20# test line on the reel and was throwing 5oz. of lead inside a tennis ball. i started with the mags set to the highest, and slowly worked my way down. i only casted about 10 or 12 times cause it was getting dark. i only had one birds nest and it wasn't very bad. my longest cast was only 250 feet. alot further than i ever casted with my old spinning outfit, but from reading here its like a chip shot for most of you. i was casting with the ball coming off the ground. any helpful suggestions to help improve?

·
Registered
1,168 Posts
When you go out next time, leave the mags full on and back off on the brake knob a little each throw. Do this till you can actually get some end play in the spool. As you get this under control then start backing off of the mags.
Main thing is just keep practicing, and as everyone will tell ya don't try to kill it yet, just practice and work on your form. Watch as many distance casting videos on youtube as you can and try to employ the techniques. You'll get better, just worry about consistency first.
These are the few things I've learned in the past year. By the way, the technique you learn for your conventional will improve your spinning gear cast as well.

·
Registered
1,138 Posts
300 feet with a tennis ball and weight is not bad and with a little pratice you will be doing that!! You are not far from that at all!