Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know of any beaches in VA that one could go and catch false albacore? Preferably in the va bch area? Do any of you fish for them regularly, while they are in season?

I have never caught one, but they sure sound fun.

todd

·
Registered
888 Posts
They show up down at sandbridge once in a while usually near the end of summer but they are not something you can really target from the beach not that common. Caught them trolling for spanish using clark spoons near shore couple miles out. Need a fast retrieve and enough line on your reel good luck.....geo

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks geo,

I am somewhat new to salt fishing, doing it since last sept, and i am trying to catch things that are a little more sporty, fiesty, than spot and croakers.

I have been reading through the descriptions of the different fish in the area here and I really prefer casting lures to using live/cut bait. (most of the time, anyway).

I guess I'll try the spanish and blues over at sandbridge.

Todd

·
Registered
270 Posts
I would love to catch a false albacore but love the spanish and blues. Great fighters on light tackle. ( And blues are as mean as a snake)

·
Registered
54 Posts
Not impossible to hook one from the beach, but it is not a common occurance. Catching a FA from a pier is a much more likely scenario. When the water starts to cool in the fall, Albert often can be seen chasing bait all around piers. Keep a gotcha plug ready and cast where you think they're going cuz they ain't anywhere near where you last saw em. Then there is a better than average chance that you'll hear your line snap or watch your reel get spooled. But that is exactly why people fish for them. Granpa

·
Registered
1,171 Posts
I think I remember an old post where someone was getting them at ft. monroe

·
Registered
20 Posts