Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently made an adjustment to my casting technique that, from what I can glean from watching top tournament casters, is more technically sound than what I was doing. Up until that point I was making good progress, but since I started training with the new adjusted technique, I've lost 10-15 yards.

I'm still not comfortable with the adjustments, but I'm hoping that with some more practice, I'll get comfortable and the changes will have me casting further than ever before. Do you agree with this premise, or should I go back to what I was doing?

The changes I made were a) keeping the right arm straighter throughout the cast to focus more on a powerful "pull" with the left; b) keeping the plane of the swing more consistent; c) not starting the power phase until my left hand has passed in front of my forehead; d) in the power phase, swinging "up", rather than "down".

·
DISTANCE CASTING SPONSOR
3,333 Posts
Matt, Unless it is just a small tweak ANY significant technique change will most likely result in lost distance. Your body has to have time to create new "muscle memory" and you have to become comfortable with the new changes before you can apply real power.

One thing that jumps out at me was when I made the change from high reel to low reel. It was difficult and distance went DOWN. I stuck with it and before long the sinkers were flying farther than ever.

Start slow, accelerate the sinker and finish fast with a burst of power and speed late.

Tommy

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Here's a video of what I'm up to....