Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
just wanted to get some opinions from you guys out there since I'm a rookie at Yakin. I been researching what some folks wear during cold water fishing and I see quite a few use neoprene waders. maybe I'm wrong here but that scares the hell out of me. I worry about getting dunked and those waders filling up!
I understand you can use a wader belt but....
Am I off track here?

thanks in advance

·
Registered
598 Posts
There are plenty of people who use waders and get along fine. You need to pair it with a dry top and at least one wading belt (some people use two; one over the waders and one over the dry top. I think that breathable waders are more popular than neoprene mainly because of comfort and the ability to properly layer clothing underneath. That is very important. Without the proper types of layers underneath, you can still freeze your butt off. You dress for the water temps. Use wicking layers like polyester, polypropylene. etc then insulating layers like wool or fleece (something that is a good insulator even when it is moist, unlike cotton). If you fall in with waders / dry top & PFD, and can get back in your kayak quickly, you would probably get very little water inside. With that said, If I think of a worse case scenario where I fall out and get separated from my kayak (which could easily happen in some of the places I fish with current), I would not want to have to tread water or swim in that outfit. That's just me.