Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm from Lilburn in the suburbs of atlanta georgia.

Our family is taking a trip to cumberland island and i was interested in using all of my spare time to go fishing. I usually go largemouth bass fishing everyday, but i am completely new to surf fishing.

I am up for catching anything! The tips I need: what rods i should get, how i should rig my setup, and any other supplies needed for surf fishing. I am trying my best to pack light because we will be hiking all around the island.

·
Registered
362 Posts
Hi everyone. I'm from Lilburn in the suburbs of atlanta georgia.

Our family is taking a trip to cumberland island and i was interested in using all of my spare time to go fishing. I usually go largemouth bass fishing everyday, but i am completely new to surf fishing.

I am up for catching anything! The tips I need: what rods i should get, how i should rig my setup, and any other supplies needed for surf fishing. I am trying my best to pack light because we will be hiking all around the island.
Check the stickie at the top of the board.

·
Registered
141 Posts
Any rod. I used ultralight break rods to catch bluefish, pompano, and whiting in the surf a few weeks back. Have two 12ft rods that I've caught 4" whiting on and 50lb Rays. I have a full graphite bass rod that I've caught big rays on also. If you're not planning on doing it every free moment you have, then use what tackle you have. Depending on how deep you are into bass fishing, you may not exactly want to carry your best equipment though. Lol

·
Registered
98 Posts
I have used. Mh 7ft spinning rods that I had on hand and did well with..
Just have to get used to reading the water. .... Different from freshwater. ..
Good luck.. Oh striper rods work well too..

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I have used. Mh 7ft spinning rods that I had on hand and did well with..