Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
8,022 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I decided to put this on th open forum so I could get input from people fishing different areas.

I have been using circle hooks for big fish for about 2 yrs now.Recently I have switched to circles for small fish as well.I have had some pretty decent croaker fishing and once I dropped down to a smaller hook size have found myself outcatching nearby fisherman.But best of all NO GUT HOOKS.
Now some may say croaker big deal if ya gut hook it.But what if a striper comes along an takes your rig.If ya gut hook a striper its pretty much dead.(Out of season here right now).

So anyway I was wondering how many use circles for all fish and who uses J's and why.

·
Registered
176 Posts
I use J hooks. I had some circle hooks that were on a rig I found and all I ever seemed to do was lose strong pulling fish. I got rid of those hooks since. The only time I've seen the circle hooks out perform the J hooks is fishing for blue catfish with chunks of cut eel.

·
Registered
767 Posts
Sounds like somebody didnt give em a good enough chance huh Clay ;) Try em again, dont set the hook, fish dont come unbottoned easily, promise.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I use circles about ten times more than any other hook. I started using them about 8 years ago. I hate to say it, but I've still gut hooked fish with circles. Can't say I've lost may though.

·
Premium Member
10,102 Posts