Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On recent trip to NC for vacation, I tried circle hooks for the first time. I've read numerous posts in this forum about their use and was quite interested in seeing how well they would work.

Frankly, I was disappointed with the results. I'll qualify that by also saying perhaps being a first time user, led to my disappointment.

I thought I had read that you do not "set"the hook. Upon sensing a hit, the proper method was to begin reeling. Was I supposed to lift the rod before beginning to reel?

I missed a lot of good bites when I'd simply begin reeling. Anything I should have done differently? All advice is welcomed!!

IB

·
Registered
2,780 Posts
Hello IB, welcome to this forum. I tried it and it worked for me. We'll, personally I let the fish commits to the hook. I don't even set it and the fish is on, I'll just reel it in. Now, I'm not an expert in using circle hooks, but the reason why you lost the fish is you did'nt have the right sized hooks? I've never fished in NC before so I don't know what kind of fish you're targeting. I'm sure someone else will give you a better answer.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Well, I recently just started using circle hooks, because I gut-hooked too many small fish. But the circle hooks seem to work fine for me. Just lift your pole keep the line tight and reel it in.:p

·
Registered
720 Posts
TunaFish, what brand circle hooks do you use? Often times, people say they use certain size hooks but forget that hook size varies from brand to brand. I too just started to use circle hooks but didn't get many bites so I don't know how good they are yet. I still give it a good tug once a fish is on. Is that wrong to do?

·
Registered
2,780 Posts