Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I live in the mountains of swVA and mostly fish freshwater with ultralight spinning equipment and light flyrods. For the past 20 or so years I've been lucky enough to fish OBX a few times each year. I normally throw lures from the pier and surf fish with spinning rods. I just bought a casting rod and I'm trying to pick a reel. The rod is an OB Custom OBX Series, 11' 2-5 oz lures. I hope to throw lures/bait in the surf and bait fish from the pier. Can I get a reel that will throw 2 oz. lures as well as 5 oz. bait rigs? Should I just set the new rod/reel up for heavier baits and continue using my spinning rod for throwing lures in the surf? Using casting equipment isn't new to me but I have limited experience with it. I know there will be a huge learning curve but I'm looking forward to adding this to my saltwater experience. Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
926 Posts
I would set the new rod up for a heaver .2-5 oz rating to much for casting Lures Imo especially for long periods of time .I would use your other gear for casting lures n jigs.

Yes any reel that can throw a 2oz is capable of throwing a 5oz .what size Weight you throw shouldn't matter on the reel but only the rod .

When Deciding On if your casting lures On a setup vs a heavier .you really Need to keep your line lb or dia. Smaller so the line doesn't kill your cast of throwing the lighter lures and so the wind,waves don't drag it down the beach... Most lures are 2oz or under.

I'm more of an inshore and bay fishing guy. Don't see the sand a lot so I'm sure other will chime in.

·
Registered
135 Posts