Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to casting lures for distance. I was casting a 1.5 oz "old fashioned" lead spoon on my Tica 9' UEHA med rod and after about 1/2 hr I began to get nasty rats nests in my line about mid way out on my casts. They were impossible to get out and I had to cut and retie. This happend 3 times and I lost about 70 yrds of line. Is this fairly common? Or... is this happening due to the line I am using (spiderline super mono xxx - 12 lb & .011 in dia) or is it due to line twist from the spoon?

The temp was about 45 degrees but I have fished in much colder temps with no such problem (however I wasn't casting over 80yds either). Any recommendations? I am think on swithing over to some type of braid (maybe power pro or tuff line). I have very little experience with braids but I was told that they have near zero memory (which should eliminate my problem).

Good part... I hooked up with the largest fresh water drum I have EVER seen. It had to go about 18lb-20lb. If I could drag in a Hybrid bass 1/2 that size I would be a hero :D

Tightlines !!

·
Registered
490 Posts
YOU MUST ALWAYS USE A SWIVEL WHEN CASTING SPOONS. bALL BEARING COST A LITTLE MORE BUT ARE BEST. HOPE THIS HELPS :rolleyes:

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
LongRanger - the model number that you've stated is the one that I have (3/4 oz - 3 oz). I figure that 1.5 oz spoon should be a good match for this rod.

Is there a good measure of if the rod is "loading" enough? Is this someting that one can "feel" or is the distance casted an indicator? I'm on a very narrow pier where I have to hang the spoon over the back end of the pier to be able to launch it with any type of "umph". I'm not sure if this is productive - but I don't see any other way.

Tightlines !!

·
Registered
490 Posts