Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to both this post and surf fishing. Will be on Cape Sas Blas July 20. I wake up very early and like to go out and fish the gulf while the rest of the family sleeps. Last year I lost several big fish that my tackle couldn't handle. I know one was a large tarpon, assume the others were sharks. Tackle this year will be 2 surf rods, one 12' the other 13', both rated med/hvy. 50# power-pro with 80# flouro leader. Reels are an older Mitchell #488 spinning, and a Shakspeare Alpha series. Will have steel leaders on with hook size 5/0 and bigger. Is this tackle going to work on the fish I have been missing? Also any info on places to fish in the area would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
3,746 Posts
Yeah I think that should do pretty good. Them steel leaders will help for both the tarpon and sharks b/c they tend to break mono pretty easily. That hook should do good for the sharks but might want to get some smaller ones too for the other fish that might be biting. Good Luck and tight lines!:)

·
Registered
2,214 Posts
Welcome to the board Hawg

Sounds to me like your good to go.

Found these spots awhile back see if they help you out.

Causeway Site US 98 Causeway between East Port and

Apalachicola.

Lots of good bay beach access for wade fishing. Varied bottom depending on where you stop. You might have to try several spots before you hit pay dirt.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

St. George Is. US 98 to SR300 (St George Is. Causeway)

(COURTESY OF CAPT. CHET) #1 Head East until you reach State Park

entrance. FEE.

Go to last picnic table on Gulf side. Good Surf Fishing. Redfish, Flounder, Bluefish, Trout, and Whiting. Spring time fishing for Mackerel and Pompano.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------