Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Does anyone use bucktails and pencil poppers in the sc surf? Any success? I've been really into John Skinners teachings lately and have all kinds of bucktails tied up and some pencil poppers in my box as well. Ive been fishing them a lot lately with no success. Being as most of the stuff I read about pertaining to surf fishing is from anglers up north, I'm starting to wonder if I'm fishing more like I'm in Jersey than in SC. Also 99% of my fishing is done from sunset to midnight. Anyone have anything on this?

·
Registered
5,784 Posts
We don't have the stripers so that knocks out lot of throwing plugs for us. Blues would hit them but they probably hit cut mullet better.

Plenty of flounder on bucktails and gulp like he uses.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've had success jigging bucktails back in Hogs Inlet with fluke, but that's about it. I'm fairly new to the surfcasting as far as actually hitting it hard. I've had mild success chunking weight and bait, but my adhd kicks in and I gotta start walking. Hah would better success come in the daytime as far as artificials? (Tins, bucktails, plugs, ect.) Should I just forget about my plugs? I know there are endless variables, I'm just trying to get a better understanding of our areas surfcasting. Most everything you find on the internet pertaining to the subject is coming from the northern states. It just doesn't seem to be very popular here I guess

·
Registered
429 Posts
When the Spanish are real thick they might go for a popper. Bucktails with gulp work great for flounder. Never really tried from the surf though.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·