Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
216 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am very new to longcasting. I have an 11' Okuma rod and a 6500C3 abu reel. The reall does not hold a lot of line. SO I was thinking of going to braid (Power Pro) I should be able to load about 300 yds of it no problem. (that much because I am sure to backlash and loose line.) What do you all think? Braid or Mono? I wills till keep a mono shock leader though, don't want the braid getting stuck within the spool from 5-6Oz of weight. Thanks for the input
- Surfman

·
Registered
206 Posts
SurfMan,

the braid was working well for you, just gotta keep that mono shock, Hopefully we can get some expert opinions so you can be spooled up to catch some monsters at OBX this weekend. I have the same question, so hopefully we can get put on the right tracck so when the fall run comes in we can be catch the big cows with everyone else.

ps. call the folks and they can let you in for your board. tightlines, peace and new ink.

later

·
Registered
127 Posts
My friend put a 300yard spool of 30lb power pro on his 6500, and i bet he could have fit another 75yards on it. Works good for casting lures like gotchas and other things.

·
Registered
258 Posts