Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am thinking about changing out the mono line to braid on my penn squall conventional reel. Will I gain a noticeable amount of distance for doing this? I know it's a night and day difference for the spinners since braid lines are thinner/lighter hence they cast further, but how about for conventionals? Since I have to somewhat match the diameter of 17lb-20lb mono line, I am thinking of 65lb braid line.

Thanks in advance for your input.

·
Registered
127 Posts
just a beginner here, but have both the squall 15 and 525 mag. When I first got the 525, my first inclination, like you, was to go to braid....man what a mistake. Blow ups are going to happen. When they happen with mono (I use 15 lb Big Game for Pompano), they can be bad...but when they happen with braid...forget about and break out another $20.

·
Registered
2,652 Posts
if you are going to use state of the art reels why not use state of the art line?
with magged reels your birds nesting should be very limited
my conventionals are loaded with braid and i power cast with few blow ups.
when they do occcur they are no harder to untangle then mono.

·
Registered
3,287 Posts
Yeah, braid doesn't really lend itself well to conventionals and power casting.
Respectfully disagree on this one. They do power cast quite well. HOWEVER, they are MUCH less forgiving when you overspool mid-cast. Sometimes you can save a "flyer" if you catch it early with mono. Braid, however, has no stretch, and will snap like a twig.

when they do occcur they are no harder to untangle then mono.
Agreed. In fact, it's usually (in my experience) easier to pull nests out of braid - I would much rather pull nests out of braid than mono. Unless there are knots. Then forget it.

·
Registered
2,020 Posts