Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey fellas. Just bought my first yak, a new Mad River Synergy 14' hybrid. I purchased it from Eastern Mountain Sports for only $359 NEW which is a steal compared to $749 at other stores and online so I had to snatch it. I've ready NOTHING but positive reviews for this yak. I'm looking forward to launching from SPSP and other local areas. Hopefully I'll be able to get things situated so I can launch a few times before the end of this striper season. I'm COMPLETELY new to yak fishing, especially in cold waters I'm completely lost. Any pointers and recommendations are welcome.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Think safety first.
Exactly. In cold water, don't leave anything to chance. It's also a good idea, to pack a waterproof ditch/survival bag. Some items you may want to include: a change of warm clothes, stocking cap, gloves, wool socks, long underwear, first aid kit, fire starting material, etc.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
They sure don't. The manager said its the last one at any location. I told her to take the sale sign off and I bought it haha. However, they have them listed on their website at that price, maybe they could order more? It was $849 originally, on sale for $599 and then I got an additional 40% off for their weekend sale this past weekend.

Thanks for the tips guys. Is there a reputable store that sells yak accessories that anyone prefers?

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
They sure don't. The manager said its the last one at any location. I told her to take the sale sign off and I bought it haha. However, they have them listed on their website at that price, maybe they could order more? It was $849 originally, on sale for $599 and then I got an additional 40% off for their weekend sale this past weekend.

Thanks for the tips guys. Is there a reputable store that sells yak accessories that anyone prefers?
please remove if in violation