Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For general fishing, surf and bay, what type of line should I be looking for for distance? I am using 40lb penn, but I think thinking that is the wrong line for Casting.

I thought perhaps 20lbs because I am a beginner. Any type of brand is favored for casting distance? I use a regular spinning reel, with usually 3oz or below weights from shore or bay. Fluke flounder, and I hope one day stiper.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can point me in the right direction...

·
Registered
854 Posts
Dang only 2 replies. You will or should get 25 or more. For an all around Give Berkley Big Game a try. Easy on the wallet and very reliable. as said 15 to 20# should do great.:fishing::beer:

·
Registered
1,169 Posts
stren, berkley, ande, momoi all good mono then if your really looking for distance try braid but be ready to change line often and wear gloves when throwing that stuff as it will cut you.

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
try braid but be ready to change line often .
why is this?... I've got some PP that's close to 20 years old and although faded out is still good... that's on a reel that never seen salt though... got PP on a couple conventionals and spinners and it's 5 years plus... no problems yet...

·
Registered
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 · (Edited)
I looked at Berkey website and saw

• Fireline® Tracer Braid
• Fireline® Braid
• Berkley® FireLine®
• Berkley Big Game® Braid
• Berkley Big Game® Hollow Braid
• Berkley® Gorilla™ Tough

also found

• Berkley® Trilene® Big Game™
• Berkley® Trilene® Big Game™ IGFA
• Berkley® Trilene® Big Game™ Leader

I recall someone recommending fireline. What is the difference between that one, and the Big Game?

I will buy some Berkley big game as you guys suggest, just need to know which one? :)

·
Registered
352 Posts
PP usually denotes Power Pro (i could be wrong)