Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
251 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have let it known that I'm a true bait lover--Live,cut,brined & Frozen is usually the only thing that I will fish with. I've never ever been a big fan of plugs and spoons; However it seems all the biguns are being caught off of lures. To be honest this is the first year that I have ventured into fishing past the month of Oct. I usually quit when the spot quit, but since I've joined this board I've been turned on to Striper and Drum fishing-- and I don't think I'm gonna let it go.

I grew up in this area, but I've lived in Ga for the past 15 years and as you know there is no salt water around the Atl. area. When I left I was strickly a bottom man. Spot, Croaker --that kind of thing, but over the past year and a half my selection and species list has grown by at least 6 kinds of fish. However I am still a novice to surf fishing. (Just bought my first sand spikes this year.) I just can't help it I LOVE fishing--can't stop

So, I'm asking my fellow fishermen/women to give me some advice (without laughing at me too hard) and keep it simple.---My first Saltwater lure or plug---for the Stripers

What to get and where to buy it--try and keep it reasonably priced

·
Registered
2,255 Posts
Considering the time of year we're in I'd say go out and buy some of the new WildEye Storm lures. They're like a lead-head jig with a rubber grub tail that's all one lure made in one piece. They're relitively inexpensive too, about $.50-0.60 each depending where you get them. Now all you've got to do is figgure out what color to use because there's about 20 of them. Just think of what your live bait looks like that catchs the most fish and that should get you started.

·
Registered
500 Posts
The basics:

1. Buy some chest waders - price varies according to type. PA Distributors on 17th St had Hodgman neoprene bootfoot waders for $100 last year.