Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody eles here live or do a lot of fishing around Wilmington? Im a student at UNCW and spend most of my free time fishing. I do most of my fishing at the South End at Fort Fisher.

·
Registered
285 Posts
I do all my pier fishing just south of wilmington on Oak Island.

Tight Lines

Tim

·
Registered
911 Posts
Raptor

Yes I live in Wilmington,,, If ya need a fishing partner, and I mostly have alot of free time.. Get with me if ya don't mind a cool 40 year ole fogey... I live over at shipyard and CB rd don't drive but... PM me or e-me at [email protected]

·
Registered
12 Posts
not from wilmington but chapel hill, new to the area and thinking of a little day trip down there this week to take a look. are *all* the piers pay-to-fish? what about lesser known piers yaupon beach, holden beach, ocean isle, and sunset beach pier? what about the northern cape fear piers, or should i go more north to where the recent post announced the specks biting...surf city? any good? would like to go to a nice pier and see what the locals are doin'. btw i found this nice site for nc piers:

http://www.ncoif.com/htdocs/piers/map.html

it's a nice overview. also bringing the gal and baby along and good cheap place to eat?

any recommendations appreciated,

solid!
james

·
Registered
4 Posts
I think that Kure fishing pier at Kure Beach Is the best "family" orientated pier. (No beer or "likker") Best of my knowledge there are no "fish for free" piers alnog our coast. Each pier has its good points and maybe bad points. There is a family type pier at Morehead City/Atlantic Beach (Oceanana Fishing Pier ) that used to have free fishing for folks that stayed at the motel. I haven't been there in ages but the price seemed reasonable at the time. Hope this helps some and good luck.....Pal

·
Registered
26 Posts
Wilmington here we come