Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone form columbia around here? Winter break is coming so i finally have time to go fishing again! The only place we know of is lake elkorn, and i have never caught anything but bluegills that are smaller then my hand. Only thing we know how to use are nightcrawlers( just hook them on there tightly and throw them in), anyone have a sweet spot or pointers? I am a complete rookie that decided to try fishing.

Thanks ahead

·
Registered
1,599 Posts
Piney Run lake, I think it's off Liberty Rd.(Eldersburg,Md.) take Rt.32 towards Westminster, when you come to the intersection of Rt.32 and Liberty Rd. make a left and go down about 3 to 5 miles and there will be a park sign(brown sign) on your left(stop light) make that left and follow it for a mile or so, park enterance on left. The lake it's self has catfish,bass,crappie,yellow pearch,bluegill and landlocked rock. The first five fish can be caught on nightcrawlers and the rock bite on chicken livers(need to tie them on hook with thread). There might be a fee to enter the park,maybe! I know in the spring the fee is $3 but don't know about this time of year. TRIGGER

·
Registered
11 Posts
Give Centennial Park in Columbia a try. Large dammed lake . Boat ramp (~$5 fee), electrics/rowing only, rentals also available. Catfish, bass, crappie, perch, and tiger muskie.
Don't know how it is in the winter, but in the spring, with bass spawning/nesting, you can have a ball throwing artificals (spinner baits, etc.). There are some large fish in this lake.
Directions (modify as needed): Take Rt 175 west to Rt 29 north.
Very next exit, take Rt 108 west. Centennial Park is about one mile, on the right. Follow signs to boat ramp/parking. A hiking trail completely surrounds the lake, so there's a lot of shore access.

·
Registered
3,390 Posts
Kwan1,

Check the DNR homepage, they list a lot of
areas near you. Columbia itself is good