Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Guys,

I am a new subscriber to this forum although i have been lurking off and on and reading most of the posts. I am new to surf fishing and have been trying to grasp as much as i can before i ask a question. After a little research i have decided on the following surf fishing rod/reel/line combination:

Okuma Solaris 10' Rod
TICA Scepter SE Series Dolphin Reel (SE10000)
Power Pro 65 Lb 300 Yard line

I plan to fish primarily from SPSP and will start going there in the near future. I wil appreciate if you guys can provide comments on this rod/reel combo i have decided on.

Another question i have is that with the Power Pro do you guys use Power Pro for making the Rigs also or do you use monofilament ?

Thanks
D_S

P.S: There is nothing devilish about me; the name sounded cool though ;)

·
Registered
597 Posts
GO with the 12' solaris, you will love it. Power pro is supposed to be great for distance and I am actually spooling my two reels tomorrow with 65#. Use mono for the rigs since if you get a snag it is easy to break.

By the way welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks reddog1. Is it feasible to cast lures with the 12' ? If it is then i will go with the 12'. What test rating mono will you be using with your 65# power pro?

D_S

·
Registered
597 Posts
I am not sure about lures and such, other people would have a better understanding. I think though for lures you do want a smaller pole and lower test line then you are thinking. Bait fishing and lure fishing are two different types of fishing. It is not a bad idea to think about having two different pole. One for lures and one for live bait.

The mono I usually use is 30# of homemade rigs. I often buy the premade ones at walmat made with wire and I tie the hooks (only circle hooks) with 30# as well.

·
Registered
597 Posts
Actually DS