Pier and Surf Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2,594 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Here's the way I disassemble and reassemble the Abu 6500 C3CT Blue Yonder. This is just to show you how I do it; it may not be the quickest, or the most correct, but I don't have parts left over and my reels work :) I purposefully did not get into bearing cleaning, oiling, bearing types or the virtues of aftermarket drag systems since I have no experience with any of those things (I'm still an Abu newbie)! I'm sure other members would have more detailed information about bearings and drags. Enjoy! :fishing: :cool:

Lay out the tools. In the Blue Yonder’s case, I’m using a flat bladed screwdriver, a shish kabob skewer (not shown), a penny and a pair of pliers.

First, loosen the three thumb screws on the right side plate. They are the three that protrude from the side plate near the rim. If they are tight, a penny will loosen them up without torquing them too much.

In this picture, the skewer is pointing to the brake carrier retaining spring. This spring holds the brake carrier on the right side of the spool.

Jab the retaining spring and lift it away in a circular motion around the spring.

It should pop free.

Take the brake carrier and the spring off and lay them aside. This opens up the access to the right side spool bearing

Using the point of the skewer, reach in and pull the bearing out. Conversely, you can push it out from the other end, or use a bearing removal tool. I like the skewer because it’s stiff, but not so much that it can harm the spool or the bearing.

The right side spool bearing is pulled out.

On the left side is the clicker cog; on a Blue Yonder, this part holds the left side spool bearing in place. Not all CT style Abus have this; the Mag Elites have another retainer spring that holds the left side spool bearing in place and a brass “speed bushing”