Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I just started using an old sealine 250smf that my father handed down to me. I've got 20lb big game on it. Will going down to 15lb give me way more distance? I'm just wondering if it's worth the trade off. I'm brand new to conventional reels and have always been hesitant but I am loving this thing Thanks fellas馃嵒

Registered
So I just started using an old sealine 250smf that my father handed down to me. I've got 20lb big game on it. Will going down to 15lb give me way more distance? I'm just wondering if it's worth the trade off. I'm brand new to conventional reels and have always been hesitant but I am loving this thing Thanks fellas馃嵒
You'd be better off staying with 20# and a 50# shock leader... Keep the mag at full while you are learning to cast...Still no guarantee you wont blow up. The Magforce reels were daiwas first attempt at making a magged surfcasting reel. That thing is about the size of a Penn Jigmaster. The retrieve will be slow. My suggestion to you is not worry about distance until you become proficient in your casting abilites. What kind of rod will you be using to cast with and what is its lure rating and length?

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can cast it pretty damn far haha. Mag is all the way off. I was wondering if I would get more distance with 15. Thanks guys

Registered
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
I'll just experiment. I lost a nice fish earlier this year because
I didn't take garbomans shockleader knot advice and I had a 3 turn surgeons knot. Broke me off at the knot. That was on a 15lb big game mainline on a spinner. Ive since learned the Bimini twist.

Registered
Man, if it were me I'd try n find more spools, have a 20, 17, n.15lb spool, throwing w/ mags off n getting plenty of yards is real good, but don't push it! Try 17 lb test. Yes 15 lb test should get you more distance, but.i would start w/ mags fully engaged at.first