Pier and Surf Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well...I've been holding my breath for a couple of months in case this trip fell through. Looks like everything is a go for the first week of August. We will be driving out on Monday the 4th and driving home Sunday the 10th.

The guy I'm riding out with will have to work in Winston Salem T,W,T. When he's done on Thursday he'll drive out and meet me at the beach. Another buddy of mine (DB) lives outside Winston Salem and he's taking me to the beach Monday night.

I'm stoked for my first trip to the point. Not sure where we are staying yet...any suggestions for camping around there? DB is checking around, but thought I'd get input from some of you.

Also was wondering about any head boats that run out to the Gulf Stream. Thinking about spending the $$ and going out one day. Info on a good boat, pricing, where, when, etc... would be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
1,193 Posts
Check Drum dums place for a place to stay. Then Buxton Beach motel or Lighthouse view. You are not going to be able to get to the point proper because of the Concent Decree in effect right now. There should still be good fishing around 49. Also if you are not able to drive on when your bud is working you can walk on at the jettys and get into some decent fishing.

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I already know what I'm going to be doing...fishing! No need for vacation package info. My focus will be to have bait in the water for the MAXIMUM amount of time while I'm there:fishing:...oh, and to drink some beer :beer:

I already got the info on Drum dums place and forwarded it to my buds. I know DB and I are more interested in camping on the beach than anything else. I normally stay at the freeman beach on the North end at CB.