Pier Report: pier fishing lures other than shrimp

Thread: pier fishing lures other than shrimp

pier fishing lures other than shrimp

im new to fishing and have been fishing pirates landing pier at south padre island, ive had success with shrimp live and frozen... it works but i want to try out lures plastic, spoons, jigs whatever.

so im looking for information on what might work on trout or reds idk...
    Last edited by rudyrich; 10-01-2011 at 05:20 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements

anybody...

its a secret

5. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements

Not sure, because only the "very stupid and hungry" fish eat the plastic

When you are on a boat , or you do the fly fishing may be.

Sea trout eat that stuff but the color is important.

I never see a RED or Black drum bite the plastic.

You fish at South Padre Island: In the month of March (Spring break) a lot of girls bite that stuff

ahh yes, spring break at south party island good times... good times

I would try Gulp Shrimp,Gulp Jerk Shads,and Gulp Minnows on a 1/8-1oz lead heads.2"FinSfish would work good too when fish are feeding on GlassMinnows.I know these lures worked for me down in FLA but I dont know if they would work in TX.Using jigs under a Popping Cork wouldnt be bad too.

BigJeff823 is spot on but here's a great lure that will score reds, trout and or flounder in South Padre.

DOA shrimp in NEW PENNY color - 1/4 oz model fished freeline mode under the lights and or during high slack tide near shallow to deep water drop offs. If you need to, add an Alameda style popping cork that has BB's inside and cast that working an inbound tide, casting past the lights and letting this bait drift slowly into the lights with a periodic pop and rattle of the float.