Question: beginner and small craft advisory

Thread: beginner and small craft advisory

beginner and small craft advisory

a buddy of mine has a boat( 19' center console) and is quite a novice. He wants to launch his boat for the first time out of Sandy Point State Park, MD. Looking at the forecast there is a small craft advisory until friday evening. How serious is this and would you suggest going out in the bay? tomorrow is the only available day he has for a quite a wihle.. thanks for your input/advice!

2. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements

that boats big enough I take my 17 ft out in 3 ft seas no problem.just becarfull,and ride with the wave.

thanks for the reply!! since i have no boating experience either, im assuing that riding the waves mean not taking them head on? bear with me, please

5. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements

The bay can be very treachorous. I am not sure a novice should go out for the first time in rough seas. Be very careful if you do.

what i mean by riding the waves is if your your going with them just stay on top of them like surfing if against themjust slow down when hitting the big ones and try not to let them hit your side

i personal don't fish,, or go out on the water,, if their is a small craft advisory or a chance of thunder storms. (don't risk your life.) there will be better days............tite lines.................)))>{

thanks.. i think we'll wait it out

I think that is best.

Please. Learn the boat and the rules of the road first. I hate to see a 16yo on a cell phone behind the wheel. Ends bad to many times.

Quote Originally Posted by gogorome View Post