AWD on OBX beaches?? Need your input please...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AWD on OBX beaches?? Need your input please...

AWD on OBX beaches?? Need your input please...

I've been driving on NC's beaches for 45 years so know what to do with my gear, but a friends is coming down and wants to put his BMW "SUV" on the beach. I am doubtful that is a good idea, but would like your opinions. I asked him if it was AWD or 4WD, and he responded 4WD, but I doubt it really is. He's from PA and says it does well in the snow, but I don't think that is relevant.

I am guessing that ground clearance will be an issue, and that it could go some places some of the time, but when it starts spinning a little the AWD system will outsmart itself and rob all the power to other end of vehicle. What do you think? Thanks for your help...

2. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements

Not a good idea

Not famalier with the Beemer system but some awd vehicles have the ability to be in 4x4 with a button or knob. Otherwise I think your right and it will outsmart itself. If that thing is just awd it's very possible it's really only 1wd and if it feels that wheel slip it shift the power to another wheel. It could just sit there digging in one wheel at a time.

Sand and snow 2 different animals

Remember at the bottom of 1 inch of snow he's getting traction on is asphalt....the only bottom on the sand is the bottom of your frame.

5. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements

I'd imagine it has skinny low pro tires, that's a no. Then the way the AWD system works on those, is another no. If he has lots of money, take a few extra beers to kick bick and relax while you watch him get stuck and wait on a tow.

BMW X3 and X5 ARE NOT True 4WD..... They are still AWD... Unless he can switch on a transfer case, its AWD which is basically a limited slip system.