Question: Blasted surf weed, Cocoa and Daytona Beaches

Thread: Blasted surf weed, Cocoa and Daytona Beaches

Blasted surf weed, Cocoa and Daytona Beaches

For the last two weeks, first in Cocoa Beach and the last week in Daytona Beach, I've been battling surf weeds tangling up my lines every time I've been out surf fishing. Sometimes it's really bad. Is there a time to avoid this mess? Is there a better time to be here for surf fishing? This is my first time to this area of Florida. I'd like to think it won't be my last. But, I've got to figure this out before I plan a return trip.

2. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements

southeastery breezes bring it in...avoid that wind

depends on the wind and surf

5. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements

Raymo, helpful when looking at the weather report for near time planning. Thanks, I'll keep it in mind. Is there a time of year where this is less of an issue? It seems like it was a continuous issue the entire 2 weeks I've been here.
    HellRhaY, could you be more specific? Are you saying its a problem year round?

It's not just the Southeasterlies that bring it. Any good hard sustained East wind from Bermuda to Africa, and/or tropical activity will send it our way. Any systems that cause a good swell the disrupt the calm in the Sargasso sea, which will cause the sargassum to slip into the Gulfstream. It's even worse when it makes it's way into the Gulfstream, and then gets stuck there, due to almost daily changes in wind direction, looping around until it finds the path of least resistance. I.E., what happens every year, at this time with the changing of the weather patterns...

It's not a problem year round. It's rare in the summer, except during periods of tropical activity. (hurricanes, tropical storms, etc)