Question: Any Tips on surf fishing

Thread: Any Tips on surf fishing

Any Tips on surf fishing

Hi, i am heading down to Huntington Beach, State park November 7th for my 26th birthday with my Girlfriend and a bud. Since money is tight we will be roughing it. Camping and surf fishing. I am not a beginner at all and have had some success when i was young fishing with my grandfather. I'm looking for advise on bait, rigs, and spots around there. I'm definitely going to fish the south point of Pawleys. And Does anyone know if i can still catch fiddler crab that time of year. Any ways thanks in advance

Also if anyone would like to join for a littler fishing

2. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements

Welcome to the family

Take a cast net with you and try to get some fresh mullet. Use them whole on a carolina rig or cut into chunks about the size of a quarter or 50 cent piece on a two hook rig. Something I think a lot o f people over look when fishing with shrimp is to not use a whole shrimp. Use a piece about the size of your thumbnail and peel them. If you're using multiple rods, varry your casting distance. Keep one in close, one in the middle of the trough, and one close to the inside or outside of the sandbars.
    Scout the beach at low tide. Look for features like a low spot in the sand bar that creates a run out, or a spot where the bar runs closer or turns away from the beach.
    And one final bit of advise, if you are using the 2 hook dropper rigs, buy the ones made out of monofilament line and stay away from the ones made out of wire leader and metal snap swivels to attach your hooks. I also take off the factory hooks and put on owner circle hooks in size 1 or 1/0. Try replacing the beads on those rigs too and experiment with different colors. Green and yellow work well for me.

5. Remove Advertisements
    PierAndSurf.com
    Advertisements