Beach Driving?? [Archive] - PierandSurf.com | Pier and Surf Fishing Forum

View Full Version : Beach Driving??

CrawFish
11-28-2005, 03:42 PM
I have 2005 4Runner, automatic tramission, fulltime 4x4. I was always told by others that 20psi and leave in Drive gear and drive. I'm new to driving on sand, what are the recommendations? Thanks in advance. btw.. the truck also has a low luck switch.. should I switch to that.

chest2head&glassy
11-28-2005, 04:03 PM
Welcome to the 4Runner club. I've had a 92 and still own a 96. Not sure on the 4th generation models (post 2003), but mine have been great in the sand, especially the nasty stuff in OI and parts of the north beaches. I've dropped them down to 18-20 and they're fine. No need to put it in low gearing.

Stay in the grooves, drive slow and you'll be fine.

And buy a tow rope too. So you can help pull out the Chevys, Fords and Nissans (that ones for you Al). :) Just kidding.

CrawFish
11-28-2005, 04:12 PM
cool.. thanks.. I feel much better now.. .. :)

croaker
11-28-2005, 05:29 PM
Some drivers use low 4wd; the reason is that this doesn't work the engine as hard. I have a '91 Jeep and use reg 4wd on firmer sand and low 4wd on loose deep sand like that around OI.

Finger_Mullet
11-28-2005, 05:41 PM
I have a 4wd Toyota Tacoma. It has a weak 4 cylinder in it. I use high 4 on the firmer sand and low 4 on the loose stuff. I just stay in the ruts and take my time. No troubles to date.

If you do start to spin and lose forward motion, quit giving the gas. Most people floor it when they lose traction and end up sitting on the axles. Just stop and put it in reverse and back out of the hole you are in. Get up a little speed and cruise on thru it.

I would take the advice and purchase a snatch rope. They give and make pulling your vehicle out more easier than with a chain.