New To Gigging [Archive] - PierandSurf.com | Pier and Surf Fishing Forum

View Full Version : New To Gigging

giggingfever
08-11-2005, 07:16 AM
HI, my name is jason, i have recently got a 16 foot doublewide jonboat w/25 merc.that i will be using for flounder gigging. i cant wait to get my first doormat. i will be putting in at wrightsville beach public access. need some advice on where i will find the most (and largest) flounder. i have only been 1 time and that was with a buddy. i got a few 18-20 inchers. i am really new to this and would really appreciate any help you guys could give.

giggingfever
08-11-2005, 07:17 AM
in short i need some honey holessssssss :) and any tips about flounder gigging, what tides are best, etc.....

rattler
08-11-2005, 06:03 PM
i haven't gigged flatties in 20 years...i always went to pea island, NC...large flats with 3-4' of water...good luck

Drumdum
08-11-2005, 07:56 PM
Keep in mind though limits are the same as rod and reel.. 8 creel limit at 14"...

giggingfever
08-25-2005, 03:37 AM
not having much luck, already lost a gig in the middle of the sound, been rained on, forgot to put plug in couple times, etc... guess it is all part of the learning process. ...where is pea island?,new to this, don't want to get lost. heard someone say elmo's island was a good spot, but they didnt say where this was, any idea? . also what are the best times in relation to tides. low, falling rising etc... thanx for the help. also what are the rules in reference to netting a few crabs?? thanx again for any help, you pro's do a great job of educating us rookies. :)

ConnorD
08-25-2005, 07:31 AM
You're a few hours away from Pea Island...it's south of Nags Head. Any shallow branch off the ICW , esp behind Masonboro Island during a ebb/flow tide should be good. Be legal as the MAN stays around the landing. :)

Drumdum
08-25-2005, 08:58 PM