Thread: Rig making

Rig making

I am going to start making my own bottom rigs and I have a few questions concerning that:

1) What lb test should I use? Maybe in the 40-60lb range?
    2) Any particular brand the best to use?
    3) I want to make a 4 or 5 drop bottom rig and not sure about the distance between each drop(hook), sinker, and the eye?
    4) What hooks should I use?

I am considering to buy a 12' Tica (UGSA12H2C) with a Penn 850SSM or even 750SSM, how is this setup?

Thanks for the help,

Steve J

Praying for all the families that were affected by this weekends tornadoes!!!!!

What are you wanting to fish for with that tica?

When you say 4 or 5 drop bottom rig do you mean 4" or 5" dropper loops or 4 to 5 individual loops? IF you are surf fishing i would not want to mess with 4 or 5 hooks tangling together. No need for more than a two hook setup in my opinion but I'm no expert. I use 30lb to 80lb mono when making rigs depending on what i want to accomplish. The heaver the mono the stiffer the rig will be and less likely to tangle. I like to use heaver mono for the rig (50 to 60) and make shorter dropper loops. You can then attach a pre snelled hook with a lighter leader via loop to loop connection. Kind of like the popular Metal two hook rigs with out all the shiny stuff.