Thread: Difference between the 2 styles of conventional reels?

Difference between the 2 styles of conventional reels?

Another newbie question for you guys. I'm new to learning about conventional reels. I see the two different styles as I'm looking around at them and am really not sure what the difference is...

It seems that the term baitcasting is thrown at different reels. I can't seem to make heads or tails as what the difference is, if any, between a baitcaster and a conventional reel. For awhile I thought these terms were interchangeable, now I'm not so sure.... Then you also just have the term "casting reel" out there. The BPS website has them broken into 2 categories, Baitcast & Conventional. So what gives?

Then you also have the 2 different styles. The round, open-faced style and the .... oblong style? You probably know what I mean, but here are a couple pics:

Round

Oblong

How are these different if they are both conventional/baitcast reels? (Not these reels specifically, just the styles in general)

Thanks!

Round- more capacity and drag, usually stronger built, classic design

Oblong- lures, bass fishing, bass fishing, lower line capacity, bass fishing

I'm not sure about the whole breakdown between conventional and baitcasting. When the term "Conventional" is used I tend to think of heavier-duty reels built for heavier fish. Anything round and without a levelwind, in my mind, counts as a conventional. This is just my opinion! Of course there are exceptions to every rule, and there are plenty of reels with levelwinds that are conventionals. The Penn GTI is one that springs to mind.

Now between "oblong" (or "low-profile," as it is often called) and round reels? The way they sit on the rod. Low profile reels also tend to have levelwinds and are made for shorter casts and freshwater/inshore fishing. Round reels sit higher off the rod.

Evan