Thread: Best Surf Fishing in SC

Best Surf Fishing in SC

I've been fishing Ocracoke, NC for several years now, but would like to find some good places closer to home. Is there anywhere on the SC coast that can approximate that Outer Banks experience? From reading some other posts it doesn't look like there are any beaches in SC that allow 4WD access? But does anyone know of some good places for surf fishing that have at least reasonably close access to the beach. I prefer to surf fish (don't care much for piers), but I've also heard that the jetties at Murrells Inlet are a hot spot? Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!

I don't know where close to home is, but we've been enjoying good surf fishing in the Charleston area. Nothing like Ocracoke, but still good.
    Good beach access at Sullivan's Island, Folly Beach, Edisto Beach

Columbia, SC Most of the time, Ft Fisher NC any chance I get
    Quote Originally Posted by wolfgang View Post
    I've been fishing Ocracoke, NC for several years now, but would like to find some good places closer to home. Is there anywhere on the SC coast that can approximate that Outer Banks experience? From reading some other posts it doesn't look like there are any beaches in SC that allow 4WD access? But does anyone know of some good places for surf fishing that have at least reasonably close access to the beach. I prefer to surf fish (don't care much for piers), but I've also heard that the jetties at Murrells Inlet are a hot spot? Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated!
    Dude;

You need to check out NC's Ft Fisher Recreation Area, just south of Wilmington in NC. They have a 8.5 mile stretch of beach with no development and you can drive ON the beach if you have a 4x4. It is a point of land about 500 yards wide and on one side is the Ocean and on the other is t he Cape Fear River.